Minister of Foreign Affairs

Linas Linkevičius

Minister's agenda cv Twitter

"Brexit" news

Created: 2018.10.09 / Updated: 2019.02.19 09:12

Timeline of the UK's withdrawal from the European Union

The beginning of 2019 the UK Parliament’s vote on the Withdrawal Agreement and Political declaration on the future EU-UK relationship („meaningful vote“)
The beginning of 2019 the EU General Affairs Council to take decisions on signing and conclusion of the Withdrawal Agreement
The beginning of 2019 the European Parliament to give its consent concerning the Withdrawal Agreement
On 29 March 2019 the UK will officially leave the EU
On 31 December 2020 the transitional period will end

General information about Brexit negotiations

In a referendum on 23 June 2016, a majority of citizens in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) voted for the withdrawal of the UK from the European Union (EU).
On 29 March 2017, the UK informed the European Council of its intention to leave the EU, in accordance with Article 50 of the Treaty on European Union. The UK will officially cease to be a member of the EU on 29 March 2019. The negotiations between the UK and EU started in May 2017. The European Commission negotiated on behalf of the EU. The negotiations were completed on 14 November 2018, when the EU and the UK chief negotiators’ have reached an agreement on the draft Withdrawal Agreement and on the Outline of the Political Declaration on the framework for the future relationship between the UK and the EU. The agreed documents were approved by the UK government on 14 November 2018. Based on the Outline the full text of Political declaration on the future EU-UK relationship was prepared involving Member States and at the same tame negotiating with the UK. On 25 November 2018 the extraordinary European Council endorsed the Withdrawal Agreement and approved the Political declaration, which sets out the framework of EU-UK future relationship. It’s now time for ratification of the Withdrawal Agreement by the British parliament and by the European Parliament and Council. If the Withdrawal Agreement will come into force on 30 March 2019, a transitional period will begin. The transitional period will end on 31 December 2020. This period will allow delaying the outcomes until the withdrawal date. Until the end of the UK's process of withdrawal from the EU, the UK enjoys the same rights and obligations as if it remained an EU member state.

Subscribe to our newsletters