Themes Mark all newsUncheck all news

Lithuania to expel two employees of the Embassy of Russia

Created: 2021.04.23 / Updated: 2021.04.28 13:53

Today, on 23 April, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania summoned a representative of the Embassy of Russia to Lithuania and handed him a diplomatic note, declaring two members of the  Embassy's staff personae non gratae, because they had carried out activities incompatible with their diplomatic status, and giving them seven days to leave Lithuania.

The decision shows our solidarity with the ally after an unprecedented and dangerous incident in the Czech Republic. Lithuania fully supports the country and its actions in response to the 2014 explosions, as well as to inadequate steps taken by Russia. 

The Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania in Moscow expressed readiness to help the Embassy of the Czech Republic to Russia perform the functions that could be disrupted by Moscow's order to drastically reduce its staff. 
The decision was made in close coordination with our Latvian and Estonian partners.

Related news All news »

On 26 February, marking the Day of Resistance to Occupation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expresses its strong support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders. We strongly condemn the Russian military aggression against Ukraine that started seven years ago and still continues, and the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol in gross violation of international law.

Speeches, Statements »

On 2 February, on the initiative of Lithuania, the Foreign Ministers of the Baltic states sent letters to the heads of the Council of Europe and the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), condemning the use of violence against peaceful protesters by Russian authorities and calling on the international community to take immediate action to stop mass detentions of protestors and journalists across Russia.

December 17, 2020

I have the honor to deliver this statement on behalf of the Moscow Mechanism invoking participating States: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States, as well as the following countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

Multilateral Relations » Speeches, Statements »

Subscribe to our newsletters