Themes Mark all newsUncheck all news

Lithuanian Foreign Ministry strongly condemns increased Russia's aggression against Ukraine, expresses sympathy for deaths

Created: 2015.01.24 / Updated: 2015.01.27 15:59
    Lithuanian Foreign Ministry strongly condemns increased Russia's aggression against Ukraine, expresses sympathy for deaths

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania strongly condemns increased Russia's aggression against Ukraine. We are shocked by today morning's military attack against  city of Mariupol, which killed civilians, among them children. This latest attack is yet another violation of Minsk agreement. We express our deep sympathy for the families of those killed, and to all Ukrainian people. Those responsible for this tragic attack must be brought to justice.

    Recent attacks and killings in Volnovakha, also in a bus stop in Donetsk, and Mariupol- each day counts catastrophic numbers of deaths, including  civilians ones, among them children, in the east of Ukraine. The persecution of Tatars and systematic human rights violations in Crimea continue. The statements by the leadership of Russia igniting violence and aggression are of particular concern.

    We urge all sides to the conflict not to escalate the situation, and start negotiations as soon as possible, and seek peaceful solution based on the international law and the Constitution of Ukraine, and not to choose the way of using force. Russia must admit its responsibility for the continuous violence, withdraw its military forces from Ukraine, stop supplying arms to terrorist and illegal armed groups, and create conditions for the reestablishment of the control of the international border between Ukraine and Russia. 

    Related news All news »

    Today, on 23 April, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania summoned a representative of the Embassy of Russia to Lithuania and handed him a diplomatic note, declaring two members of the  Embassy's staff personae non gratae, because they had carried out activities incompatible with their diplomatic status, and giving them seven days to leave Lithuania.

    News of the Ministry »

    In the light of ongoing Russian escalation and build-up of military forces around Ukraine borders, we, the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia, the Republic of Lithuania and Ukraine,

    Taking into consideration our close bonds of friendship, partnership and cooperation which have been developing between our States,

    Wishing to provide stability and security in the Euro-Atlantic space,

    Realizing the threats posed by the aggressive policy of the Russian Federation for the entire European continent:

    Have stated the following:

    Multilateral Relations »

    On 26 February, marking the Day of Resistance to Occupation of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs expresses its strong support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders. We strongly condemn the Russian military aggression against Ukraine that started seven years ago and still continues, and the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol in gross violation of international law.

    Speeches, Statements »

    On 2 February, on the initiative of Lithuania, the Foreign Ministers of the Baltic states sent letters to the heads of the Council of Europe and the Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), condemning the use of violence against peaceful protesters by Russian authorities and calling on the international community to take immediate action to stop mass detentions of protestors and journalists across Russia.

    December 17, 2020

    I have the honor to deliver this statement on behalf of the Moscow Mechanism invoking participating States: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States, as well as the following countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, North Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Spain.

    Multilateral Relations » Speeches, Statements »

    Subscribe to our newsletters